Mango Cayenne Ice Cream

_MG_1233title

 

 

I’m all about the ice cream.  If I could live in a relatively healthful manner and just eat ice cream, that would be my idea of heaven.

I used to like savory food more than sweet, but as I’ve gotten older I’ve developed more of a sweet tooth.  But now and then I like my hot and spicy food too.  This recipe gives me both.

My friend Jude sent me the link for this recipe, because we had just had a mango salad and  mangos were on our radar, and she knows that if it says “spicy”, I’m going to love it.  I am also very, very fond of salt on sweet, and this ice cream is garnished with chunky sea salt.  I knew this one would be a winner.

For this you will need an ice cream maker.  I don’t use mine too often, but I keep the work bowl in the freezer for just such an occasion as this.  I had most of the ingredients on hand, and it came together beautifully.

Mango Cayenne Ice Cream (from Chin Deep)_MG_1220e

1 (14 oz.) can full fat coconut milk, chilled in refrigerator
2 perfectly ripe mangoes, peeled, pitted and sliced
1 large banana, peeled and sliced
juice of 1/2 large, juicy lime
1/3 cup raw honey
3/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
fresh mint leaves (garnish)
coarse pink Himalayan sea salt (garnish)

Place coconut milk in a large mixing bowl. Place mango and banana in the bowl of a blender.

 

Puree until smooth and add fruit puree to coconut milk in bowl. Add lime juice, honey and cayenne. Whisk until smooth and evenly blended. _MG_1221ePour into an electric ice cream maker and freeze according to the directions that come with your machine. (I allowed mine to go for 1/2 hour.) Transfer ice cream to a container with a tight fitting lid and place in freezer until ready to serve.

Garnish with fresh mint leaves and a sprinkle of the coarse, pink, Himalayan sea salt.

 

 

Note on my changes: I used mangos from a jar, because that is what I had–I used one 20 oz. jar, drained.  I did not have a large, juicy lime to use half of, but I did have a shriveled dryish lime, so I used the whole thing.  I used the entire complement of cayenne, but if you’re squeamish or wimpy you can reduce the amount.  I used red sea salt instead of pink, because the color of the pink didn’t stand out.  I don’t think it matters, taste wise.

 

_MG_1228e

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mango Cayenne Ice Cream

  1. Mary R. says:

    I’d love to try this some time. I made Mexican Hot Chocolate Cookies with cayenne pepper and loved the kick they had. I’ll bet this is similar.

Leave a comment