Green Beans a la Basquaise

I’m reaching way back into the murky depths of time for this one–back to 1979, in fact.  Though 1979 wasn’t the first year I started subscribing to Bon Appetit,  it was my favorite year for the magazine, apparently.  So many of my favorite recipes came from that year, and this green bean recipe was in the regular rotation for me back then.  I hadn’t made it in years, but I resurrected it just now and it was as good as I remember.

Tonight I had these alongside roasted salmon.  I had some of the beans left over, and tomorrow I’m going to cook an Italian sausage and add it to them.

Green Beans a la Basquaise
(Bon Appetit, April 1979) with a few modifications
serves 4
1 lb. fresh green beans, trimmed and cooked 5-7 minutes, until crisp-tender
2 Tablespoons olive oil
1 14 oz. can diced tomatoes, with their juice
1/4 cup finely minced fresh parsley
3 large basil leaves, finely minced
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 large sprig fresh thyme
1 sprig fresh oregano
salt and pepper and red pepper flakes, to taste

After the beans are cooked, drain them and set aside. Heat olive oil in a skillet over high heat.  Add remaining ingredients (except green beans).  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat, partially cover, and simmer 20-25 minutes until tomato liquid has evaporated.  Stir in green beans, cover and simmer an additional 10 minutes.  Serve with Parmesan cheese.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

