Mexican Street Corn Salad with Avocado

IMG_9445MSCSalad title

I really like summer food, on the whole, better than winter food.  It can get pretty warm around here in South Texas, so cooking is not always appealing, but if you can throw together a quick salad and it tastes this good, why wouldn’t you?

I found the original recipe here, but I added and subtracted some things and I didn’t always measure, so I’ll tell you what I did.

First of all, I decided to make this a main dish, so I grilled a chicken breast and diced it up and added it.  I don’t really like cheese too much, so I left that out.  I added grape tomatoes because I had some.  Instead of the regular chili powder, I added chipotle powder.  And to make the salad a bit lower in fat, I only used about 1/2 Tablespoon of mayonnaise instead of the 3 Tablespoons called for.  I found it creamy enough, especially with the avocado.  And finally, I used frozen, thawed corn because it’s only April and the fresh corn is not here yet.

Mexican Street Corn Salad with Avocado
serves 4-5

1 boneless chicken breast half, grilled and diced
1 1-lb. package of frozen corn kernels, thawed
1 Tablespoon olive oil
4 green onions, sliced
handful of cilantro, chopped
1 fresh jalapeño, chopped
10-12 grape tomatoes, halved
1 avocado, cubed
juice of 2 limes, or to taste
1 teaspoon chili powder (I used chipotle)
1 Tablespoon mayonnaise

Heat olive oil in large skillet; put in well-drained corn, add salt and pepper to taste, and cook until starting to char, about 5-6 minutes depending on how hot your skillet is.  Remove and let cool slightly.

Add remaining ingredients to corn and mix well.  Serve cold or at room temperature.
See original recipe for variations.IMG_9451MSCSalad

 

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mexican Street Corn Salad with Avocado

  1. redusm says:

    This really looks good, I can’t wait to make it with fresh Jersey corn!!

  2. redusm says:

    Love your photo, too!

Leave a Reply

