Sausage Balls

IMG_6944Sausage Balls title

Do you know Sausage Balls?  I’ve been making them for years and it’s something that I seriously thought everyone in the country knew about.  But from time to time I hear of someone who has never had them, never made them, never heard of them, and I think oh you poor thing.  Because these are seriously good and seriously easy and you can keep them on hand in the freezer.

Even though the recipe is pretty standard, my sister-in-law Mary and I have been discussing our varying results on these.  We use the same recipe, but she gets a lot of grease coming off of hers during baking and I don’t.  We decided that it might be the cheese–we are using different brands, mostly because we live in different parts of the country and can’t both get the same brand of cheese.  And I seem to remember that many years ago, these did have more grease and as a result, they tasted better.  Oh shut up, it’s Christmas.

In any case, Sausage Balls–not pretty, not healthy, but make these anyway.

Sausage Balls

1 lb. Jimmy Dean sausage (I use hot)
1 lb. sharp cheddar cheese, grated (do not use pre-grated)
3 cups Bisquick
Combine all ingredients.  I use my Kitchenaid stand mixer to mix these up in no time flat.  Form balls the size of walnuts and place on a baking sheet.  If yours are like mine and don’t give off much grease, you will need to spray the sheet with Pam.  If they’re like Mary’s, you won’t.  I don’t know what to tell you.

Bake at 350° for 20 minutes.IMG_6949Sausageballs

 

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

