Roasted Lemon and Tomato Salad

_MG_2754title

I guess if I could only have one flavor, one taste, for the rest of my life, I would choose lemons.  Lemons are as comfortable in sweet dishes as they are in savory dishes.

This is the first time I’ve ever had a lemon salad, though.  I loved it–the flavors are so fresh and it’s the epitome of summer.  I ate it by itself, though I think it would be delicious with something as simple as a perfectly grilled chicken breast.  Or a salmon filet.

I found the recipe on Pinterest, and made it from this blog, Platings & Pairings.

_MG_2744ingredients

These are the ingredients.  If the mint looks a little bedraggled, blame the late August heat, which has just about done for my mint for this year.  I managed to get enough to make this salad, but only just.  I actually think I would add more, if I had it.

_MG_2750lemons

To start with, you need to seed the lemons and slice them paper thin.  This is harder than it looks, but the thinner you make them, the better.  You blanch them for a bit first (2 minutes, but I will cook them about 4 minutes next time I make this), mix them up with some olive oil and oregano and salt, and roast them in the oven.  They will get soft, and you will be able to eat the peel, which is what gives this dish its…appeal.  Ha.

After that, mix the lemons with the remaining ingredients and eat at room temperature.  I will definitely be making this again.  It is the very definition of refreshing.

Here are the directions from Platings & Pairings:

  • 2 lemons, halved crosswise, seeds removed, and cut into paper-thin slices
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • ½ tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 2⅔ cups baby tomatoes, yellow or red or a mixture of both, halved
  • 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
  • ⅓ cup flat-leaf parsley leaves
  • ½ cup mint leaves
  • ½ small red onion, halved crosswise and thinly sliced into half rings (about ½ cup)
  • salt and black pepper
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Preheat the oven to 325ºF.
  2. Fill a small saucepan with water and bring to a boil. Add lemon slices and blanch for 2 minutes. Drain well. Combine 1 tablespoon oil, sugar, oregano and ½ teaspoon salt in a small bowl. Add lemon slices and mix well to combine. Spread the lemon slices out in a single layer on a baking sheet lined with foil
  3. or parchment paper. Bake for 20 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool.
  4. Combine the tomatoes, remaining 2 tablespoons oil, ¼ teaspoon salt, pepper, vinegar parsley, mint and onions in a bowl. Add the lemon slices and stir gently to combine. Taste for seasoning and adjust as desired with additional salt and pepper. Serve immediately._MG_2764closeup
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

