Pumpkin “Brownies”

 

_MG_7179

Because ’tis the season for pumpkin, I’m resurrecting an older post.  Actually, this recipe was on this blog within a post that had several recipes in it, but I felt it deserved its own post, since these are just so special.  I make them every year.

_MG_7170And every year I ask myself why I only make them in the fall.  They’re quick and easy, SO moist, and they will keep for a long time in the refrigerator, should you be able to resist them longer than I can.  I know they freeze well without the frosting, but this time I’m going to try freezing a few with the frosting on, and see how that works.

You can make these really thick, in a 9×9 inch pan, or a bit thinner in a 9×13 inch pan.  It’s really your choice, but I like the thinner ones better.  These are not cakey.  They are dense and rich and they have more butter in them than you really want to know about, plus four eggs and a lot of sugar.

Maybe that’s why I don’t make them more often, after all.

I got this recipe from my friend Andrea and I have no idea where she got it, so I’ll just give her the credit.

Pumpkin Brownies with Cream Cheese Frosting
Brownies:
1 cup melted butter
2 cups sugar
4 eggs
1 cup cooked pumpkin
1 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla

Frosting:
8 oz cream cheese
1/2 cup soft butter (stick works best)
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

Beat eggs well. Beat in sugar, butter, pumpkin and vanilla. Add flour, mixing well; then add spices. Spread brownie mixture into a lightly greased 9″ x 9″ pan. (For thinner brownies, use a 9″ x 13″ pan) Bake at 350 deg. for 30-35 minutes. Cool cake and frost using cream cheese frosting.

For Frosting:

Soften cream cheese and butter at room temperature; blend together. Add vanilla and powdered sugar; beat well. Spread over cool brownies. Makes enough frosting for a 9″ x 13″ pan._MG_7169

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pumpkin “Brownies”

  1. redusm says:

    These look heavenly…especially to a pumpkin addict like me. I am going to have to try these soon.

Leave a Reply

