Sausage Kolaches

 

 

_MG_6984 title

 

Made these and just ate two of them at one sitting.  I’m feeling slightly bloated, but they were awesome.

Even though I’ve been a Texan all my life I came late to the kolache scene.  My family was surely the only one in Texas that never stopped at the Czech Stop on the way to Dallas and parts north–I don’t know why, but I feel the loss and the years of kolacheless-ness.

A friend’s husband made fruit kolaches and I think those are the first ones I’d ever had, but now I’m a fan of them all.  Buc-Ee’s has some delightful sausage kolaches, if you’re ever in the mood.

_MG_6982r

I found jalapeño-flavored wieners yesterday and decided to try my hand at kolaches.  It was ridiculously easy to make these.  I tried the recipe on this blog; their recipe says it is adapted from one by the Pastry Queen.  I have all her books so I may go back and make the original unadapted recipe, but probably there’s no reason to mess with perfection.

As a side note, I baked these for 25 minutes and when I make them the next time, I will reduce that by 5 or 6 minutes.

Sausage Kolaches

Ingredients

  • For the dough:
  • 1 package (2 1/4 tsp) active dry yeast
  • 1/4 cup water, warmed to 110-115F
  • 1 cup milk, warmed to 110-115F
  • 4 Tbsp butter, melted and cooled to warm
  • 2 large eggs
  • 5/8 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 4 3/4 – 5 1/2 cups flour
  • For the filling:
  • Grated cheddar, optional
  • Fresh jalapeno slices, optional
  • Smoked sausage, cut into 3-4 inch pieces and halved lengthwise if very thick

Instructions

  1. Sprinkle the yeast over warm water in the bowl of your stand mixer. Let proof for 5 minutes, until foamy/creamy.
  2. Turn the mixer to low and add the milk, melted butter, 2 eggs, sugar, and salt until mixed thoroughly.
  3. Add the flour in two batches (start with the low amount) and mix only until just combined. The dough will be tacky but should be firm enough to crawl up the dough hook. Add additional flour as necessary.
  4. Cover with plastic wrap and let rest for 1-2 hours, until dough has doubled.
  5. Punch down and refrigerate covered overnight or for at least 4 hours.
  6. Divide dough into ~2.5 inch balls (I weighed mine at 2.5 oz each) and set on a lined baking sheet.
  7. Cover and let rest for 15 minutes.
  8. Flatten each dough ball and top with a couple slices of jalapeno and pinch of grated cheddar (if using) and place the sausage on top.
  9. Wrap the dough around the fillings, pinching the edges together and placing seam-side down on the baking sheet.
  10. Cover and let rest for 20 minutes, while preheating oven to 375.
  11. Bake for 25-30 minutes, until browned.
  12. Let the kolache cool for 20 minutes and serve.
  13. Leftovers will keep tightly wrapped in the fridge for 3-4 days and can also be frozen.

_MG_6987e

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sausage Kolaches

  1. Susan says:

    Oh my, these look good. I can see where you might be needing some comfort food! My daughter’s grandma Loretta is Czech, and she makes the fruit kolaches at Easter.

  2. Jude says:

    Drowning your sorrows in kolaches, huh? Those look great! Now that you have mentioned It, I think I will see if I can get John to make some cream cheese kolaches this week. He did make us some buttermilk scones this morning.

  3. Jude says:

    Sorry for the inadvertent capitalization. I meant “it”.

Leave a Reply

