Pumpkin Apple Cake

_MG_4574etitle

Or Apple Pumpkin Cake.  I can taste both, kind of equally, so I guess you could say it either way.

_MG_4573e

My house smells like Fall.  Even though outside it’s in the 90’s with about a million percent humidity (you only think I’m exaggerating), in here it’s all cinnamon-toasty-apple-yummy smells coming from the kitchen.

I went scouring the Internet for something that had both apples and pumpkin in it, because I’m ready to taste both and they mean Fall to me.  I didn’t care if it was sweet or savory, cookies or soup or something else.  This recipe was the first one that jumped out at me from the Google Machine, and I had all the ingredients, so…it was fate.

I didn’t take any process pictures, because frankly I think that baking process pictures are boring.  Everything of this cake’s type is pretty much made the same way–combine wet ingredients, combine dry ingredients, put them together, fold in the chunkies.  And that is indeed what you do to make this cake._MG_4578e

 

I am such a sucker for a moist cake.  And this cake more than delivers in that department.  I don’t know how long it will stay moist, but I suspect it will be just as long as there’s a crumb left, which  may not be that long.

The addition of caramel sauce, as suggested by the author of the recipe, is not necessary but boy, do I recommend it too.  Chopped nuts would be nice but I left them out this time.

Make this recipe, and your house too will smell like Fall.  Even if you live in South Texas.

_MG_4583e

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pumpkin Apple Cake

  1. redusm says:

    Looks really really good. We may have to try this soon!

  2. redusm says:

    I made this to take to a social gathering and it was a huge success! Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

