Lemon-Glazed Zucchini Bread

IMG_3650For years–probably more than 40 of them–I’ve been making the same recipe for Zucchini Bread.  It has always been my go-to recipe, because it has pineapple in it and it is SO moist and delicious.  I still love my Zucchini-Pineapple Bread.  But as of yesterday, there’s a new kid in town, and it involves lemons.

I got the recipe for it here and I followed it pretty much to the letter.  I will tell you, though, that when the recipe says “greased pan”, you better make sure you take heed.  In fact, next time I make this recipe I am going to grease and flour it, because I had a hard time getting it to come out of the pan.  I also had to bake it for about 15 minutes longer than the recipe says to, but if you just make sure to start testing it at 45 minutes you should be fine.IMG_3660e

Those caveats aside, I am really, really in love with this lemony bread.  It is just as moist as my zucchini-pineapple bread, but it is less sweet and more tart and bright.  IMG_3654e

I’m not going to abandon my old friend, but the new one is definitely going to get some attention as well.

Here is the recipe for the Zucchini-Pineapple Bread, which came from an ancient issue of Bon Appetit.  You should really try both, and see which one you prefer.

Pineapple-Zucchini Loaf
makes 2 loaves

3 eggs
2 cups sugar
1 cup oil
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 cups peeled, grated and well drained zucchini
3 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 8-ounce can crushed pineapple, undrained

Preheat oven to 350.  Grease and flour 2 9×5 inch loaf pans.  Beat eggs until fluffy.  Add sugar, oil and vanilla and blend well.  Add zucchini.  Sift together flour, baking powder, soda and salt and add to batter.  Stir in pineapple and mix well.  Turn into pans and bake until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean, about 1 hour.  Cool on wire rack before removing from pans.  Wrap and store overnight to develop flavors before slicing.

zucchini-pineapple bread

zucchini-pineapple bread

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

