Stovetop Smoker

IMG_3801This isn’t a recipe post, and I have no connection with the company that makes these…but I just had to give a shout out to my Cameron Stovetop Smoker.  Although I don’t use it very often, it remains just about my favorite way of cooking salmon.

As I said in another post, I absolutely love salmon.  It’s so easy to prepare and it goes with so many things.  I like it in salmon pasta salad, and in Asian Salmon Bowl with Lime Drizzle, but I also love it just roasted, or as in this case, lightly smoked.

Here is my stovetop smoker.  IMG_3839It’s a little larger than a 9×13 pan and takes up slightly more space in the cabinet, which is somewhat of a downside if you are short on storage space.  Totally worth it.

Here’s how I used it to cook that absolutely delectable, delicately smoked, juicy piece of salmon up there.

First, you have to set up the smoker.  When you buy it, it comes with these little containers of tiny, tiny wood chips.  IMG_3791

You really need to use them, because the tiny size of them is important.  For salmon, I like using Alder, and I’ve used up my little container and bought a larger amount online.  I’ve made pork tenderloin in the smoker, and for that I like something a little more robust, like Mesquite.  But whatever you use, the smoky flavor can quickly overwhelm the meat.  I haven’t had much success with chicken breasts because I haven’t found the magic combination of smoke and cooking time, but I’m still trying.IMG_3797

Put about 2 Tablespoons of wood chips in the bottom of the smoker…IMG_3789…and then add the lower pan directly over the chips.  I like to cover the lower pan with foil to facilitate cleanup.  Then spray the rack with cooking spray and add the salmon.IMG_3798The foil covered bottom pan sits directly on the wood chips.  The pan lid is very tight-fitting and slides right on over the food.  Season the food before cooking.  Although I didn’t photograph it, I added McCormick’s Montreal Steak Seasoning, but I have also enjoyed it with a sprinkling of dill, or just plain salt and pepper.

Turn on a burner underneath the pan to high and start to watch it.  After a very few minutes, you will start to smell the smoke, and see little wisps of it start to issue from the corners of the pan lid; your wood chips have ignited.  That’s when I turn the heat to low and start timing.  For this filet of salmon, I timed 13 minutes, and it was perfect.IMG_3802IMG_3804

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

