Russian Vegetable Pie

IMG_3238 Back in 1973 or so, when I took my first cooking class (Vegetarian Gourmet cooking), I was just starting to go beyond the meat-and-potatoes and pedestrian vegetables of my youth and to strike out into uncharted territory.  I seem to remember that the vegetarian cooking class was the only one I could fit into my schedule, so that’s what I took.  Because Martha Rose Shulman, the woman who taught the class, was so passionate about food and cooking, and made it so accessible, I was inspired to start my own journey.  Martha Rose, who was just starting out, went on to become rather well known in the food world–she came out with her own cookbooks and is still a food columnist for the New York Times.  But that was 1973, Martha Rose was just another Austin hippie, and I didn’t know much about cooking.  So the first thing I did was to buy the cookbook she recommended.  It was called The Vegetarian Epicure, by Anna Thomas.  I still have a copy (actually, I’m on my second one, because the first one finally fell apart) and I still love it.  And Russian Vegetable Pie is my favorite recipe in it.

The recipe in the book calls for a whole wheat pie crust, homemade of course.  I really prefer that, because the nuttiness of the whole wheat complements the filling so well, but I was in a hurry to make this pie, and packaged pie crusts are so darned convenient.  I think they taste pretty good, too–as long as you buy the rolled up dough ones and not the ones that are sold frozen in pie tins.  I think those taste like cardboard.  Anyway, I used the prepackaged dough.  I’m not spending too much time feeling guilty over it.

IMG_3130These are the ingredients for the filling.  Imagine that those eggs are hard-boiled and sliced, the onion and cabbage are chopped, and the cream cheese is cut in half and softened.  Once you’ve done all that, half the battle is fought.IMG_3136Put your chopped cabbage and onions in a giant frying pan with some melted butter, and let them cook and soften till they look like this, then add lots of tarragon and basil.  I use dried in this recipe, but I guess you could use fresh if you have them.  Season it with salt and pepper, and remove it from the pan.IMG_3137Add the mushrooms to the skillet with a little more butter, and fry them until they are brown and have lost their juices.  Let them and the cabbage mixture cool a bit, and you are ready to assemble the pie.

IMG_3138IMG_3143

Spread the softened cream cheese on the bottom crust, then start layering the hardboiled egg slices on top of it.  Sprinkle heavily with dill, salt, and pepper.

IMG_3145IMG_3147

Top the eggs with the cabbage, and then with the mushrooms.  Fit the top crust over the mushrooms, and cut some slits in the top.

IMG_3149

 

Bake it at 400° F for 15 minutes, then turn down the oven to 350° for about another 20 minutes, until the crust is brown.

IMG_3161

This pie needs to cool for a while so that it will slice nicely.  And actually, if I can wait that long, I like to eat it cold.

Russian Vegetable Pie
Filling:
1 small cabbage, coarsely shredded
1 lb mushrooms, sliced
1 onion, chopped
basil, marjoram, and tarragon to taste
3 tablespoons butter
4 oz softened cream cheese
4-5 hard boiled eggs
dill
1 9-inch pie crust, plus another circle of pastry for the top

In a large pan melt 2 tablespoons butter. Add the onion and cabbage and sauté for several minutes, stirring constantly. Add herbs and seasoning to taste. Cook until the cabbage has wilted and the onions are soft. Remove from pan and set aside.

Add another tablespoon butter to the pan and saute mushrooms for 5-6 minutes, stirring.  Spread the softened cream cheese in the bottom of the pie shell. Slice the eggs and arrange the slices in a layer over the cheese. Sprinkle them with a little chopped dill, then cover with cabbage. Make a final layer with the mushrooms.  Cover with the circle of pastry, press pastry together and flute edges.

Make a few slashes in the top. Bake in 400 F oven for 15 minutes, then reduce heat to 350 F for 20 minutes until the crust is brown.IMG_3242 IMG_3225

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Russian Vegetable Pie

  1. Patricia says:

    Oh, this looks fabulous! Serendipitously, I ran across this Nora Ephron article about cbbage strudel yesterday (http://www.nytimes.com/2005/12/28/opinion/28ephron.html?pagewanted=print&_r=1&amp😉 and I’ve been longing for cabbage ever since.

    Now…if it will only dip below 90 degrees. (I’m in Austin.)

    • Susan says:

      Yum! Cabbage strudel sounds amazing. And I’m in San Antonio, but I had no trouble consuming vast quantities of this pie earlier today, 90’degrees and all.

  2. Thanks! I lost my recipe card for this. I started making this back in the 70s as it’s a great dish. Going to bake this pie for Christmas Eve with a side of brandied carrots and smashed potatoes. So glad I found your website with the recipe.

  3. Jane Wallace says:

    I’ve made this since the 1960’s one of my Favorites, have it in the oven for Easter 2015!!

  4. maggie says:

    oh, such a long time favorite. Loved “Vegetarian Epicure”!! thanks for posting it. and yes, i love it cold. (on the extremely rare times it ever lasted that long.)

Leave a Reply

