Potato Chips

IMG_2400It seems that whenever I decide I need to lose a few pounds, my mind immediately gloms onto thoughts of salty, crispy things.  I know a lot of people have trouble giving up sweets, but that’s not my problem–no, give me the savory stuff every time, and give me lots of it.

I recently found something called Skinny Pop Popcorn at Costco.  It’s only 39 calories per cup, and it tastes really pretty good.  The trouble with it is that we keep just buying one bag, and then we eat it in a couple of days, and then we have to wait till we go to Costco again.

pretty darned good stuff

pretty darned good stuff

Between visits to Costco, I needed to find something that would satisfy that salty/crispy craving.  And that’s when I found this:

IMG_2382This is the Mastrad Top Chips Maker.  Its sole duty in life is to make guilt-free salty crispy snacks.  I’ve been looking at it for awhile on Amazon, and I finally decided to order it.  Even though the reviews were good, my expectations were not high.

I could not have been more wrong about that.  I opened the box, got out a potato, followed the directions, and with almost no fuss and no muss, I had about 100 potato chips that had no fat.  Not just a little…none.  I could eat 100 potato chips for the number of calories in a freaking potato–about 150.

The chip maker consists of a silicon tray that fits in the microwave, and a very small mandoline slicer.  I have a standard size mandoline and I don’t use it for everyday tasks because it’s kind of big and it’s scary sharp and there are lots of pieces to wash.  But this little slicer isn’t scary at all, and it’s just the size you need to slice a potato in paper-thin slices.

To make the chips, just wash the potato and use the mandoline slicer to make very thin slices.  You can peel the potato or leave the peel on.  IMG_2386

Lay the slices out on paper towels to take a little bit of the moisture out of them, and season them.  So far I’ve just added salt, but I plan to experiment with garlic salt, with chili powder, with cumin, with lemon pepper–the possibilities are limitless.

Place the slices in one layer on the silicon tray.  Depending on the size of the potato, you should be able to get about 13-15 slices on there.IMG_2388Then zap it in the microwave for 3 minutes, give or take a few seconds.  As with anything, the time depends on your microwave, and I find that mine gives the best results at 2 minutes and 40 seconds.

And then, I swear to you, this is how they come out.  They are perfectly crispy and really potato-y and guilt-free.IMG_2393Then repeat this process until you get a nice mound of potato chips.  This is probably the biggest downfall to the chip maker–it only makes about 15 chips every 3 minutes.  But you can be slicing and blotting during the 3 minutes and it really isn’t that much of a big deal.  Or, you can buy a second tray.

They say you can use the chip maker to make sweet potato, carrot, apple, and pear chips–any firm vegetable will do, apparently.  Right now I’m concentrating on the humble potato.  My next task is to teach Larry to make them, because even my favorite food skeptic loves these chips.IMG_2395

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Potato Chips

  1. Patricia says:

    Glad you are back! Apparently I found you right about the time you took off for the summer 🙂

  2. sbuent says:

    I’ve been dieting, and if I cook when I diet, bad things happen…

Leave a Reply

