Candy’s Corn Bread

IMG_0580So many years ago I don’t even want to count, I attended a social event that was connected to work.  A woman there, whose name was Candy, brought some corn bread.  I’ve never been a big fan of the usual kind of corn bread, despite being from the South, but this one knocked me over, it was so good.  I guess it’s more like a kind of corn pudding, because it’s so moist, but whatever you call it, it’s wonderful and I do crave it from time to time.  Whenever I have some buttermilk on hand, I start thinking about making this.

I don’t remember Candy’s last name and I can’t call her face to mind, but I sure do like her corn bread.

Candy’s Corn Bread
makes 1 8 x 8 pan or 9-inch round 

1 cup cream style corn
1 cup yellow corn meal
1/2 cup oil
1 cup buttermilk
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 large onion, chopped
1 large jalapeno, chopped

2 eggs

6 ounces shredded sharp Cheddar cheese
2 teaspoons sugar
Combine all ingredients and bake 30 minutes at 400 degrees in a greased skillet, or a 9×9 inch pan.IMG_0576IMG_0590

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

