Dragon Noodles

IMG_0248I am more than a little in love with these noodles.  I found the recipe while drifting around in Pinterest, an activity that I seem to spend entirely too much time at.  The recipe is at a blog called Budget Bytes, where they price out this dish at $1.02 per serving.  That’s just over Ramen territory, and it tastes a whole heck of a lot better.

IMG_0238IMG_0240At first glance, since there’s no meat, they seem to be a healthy choice but…butter.  And that’s what makes the dish.  Oh well.

These noodles make a great quick supper or lunch, and most of the ingredients are usually on hand.  The exception is cilantro, which doesn’t last all that long in the refrigerator and therefore I usually have to make a run to the store to buy some.  But the recipe doesn’t use much, so I can have these noodles three or four times before the cilantro goes bad.

At Budget Bytes, they talk about how spicy this dish is, but I don’t think so.  Seemed just right to me.

Dragon Noodles
2 servings (though really I can eat the whole thing myself)

4 ounces dried pasta noodles (I use fettucine or linguine)
2 Tablespoons butter
1 Tablespoon Sriracha sauce
1 Tablespoon soy sauce
1 Tablespoon brown sugar
1 egg, beaten
1 green onion, sliced
a handful of cilantro, chopped
Boil water and add the pasta; cook according to package directions.

While the pasta is cooking, in a frying pan over very low heat, melt the butter.  When it is melted, add the egg and scramble it over the low heat, until just done but very soft.  This seems like a high butter to egg ratio, but the butter really works in the finished dish to smooth out the sauce.  Don’t skimp.

Combine the Srircha sauce, brown sugar, and soy sauce in a bowl.

Drain the noodles.  Add to the butter and egg in the pan, then add the sauce mixture and stir to combine.  Top with cilantro and green onion and serve.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dragon Noodles

  1. Pat Brown says:

    oh yum, yum, yum..These sounds wonderful.. I am going to make these this week I know what you consider NOT hot, after our trip to the tasting contest at thai taste..So how hot are they, really? I think you ate a #17 or something that day..Yikes. I do #2, that sound nasty. :-0

    _____

Leave a Reply

