Borscht

IMG_2346This is going to be my lunch today.  I’m not claiming any authenticity for this recipe, but I looked at lots and lots of  Borscht recipes and I took the parts I liked from all of them, melded them together, and made them my own.  I’ve made this many, many times, and I love the way it tastes.  It is comfort to me.

To think…I used to think I did not like beets.  Silly me.

Borscht My Way
makes about 6-8 servings

1 lb. stew meat, cubed (can be arm steak, chuck, or round)
1 tablespoon oil
1/2 large onion, diced
4 cups water
2 medium sized potatoes, peeled and cubed
1/2 medium head of cabbage, sliced
4 or 5 medium beets, roasted, cooled, peeled, and grated
1 large link fully cooked Polish sausage (I usually use turkey sausage, like Butterball), sliced
juice of 1 lemon
salt and pepper, dill, and plain Greek yogurt to taste
In a soup pot large enough to hold all the ingredients, heat the oil.  Add the stew meat and brown.  Add the onions and cook together a few minutes longer.  Add the water and bring to a simmer.  Partially cover the pot and cook until the meat is tender, at least an hour.
After the meat is tender, add the diced potato.  Cook 10 minutes.  Add the cabbage and cook another 10 minutes.  Add the beets, lemon juice, and the sausage, and cook for a final 10 minutes.
Serve with a dollop of yogurt and sprinkle with dill.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

