Apple and Salted Caramel Hand Pies

Today I made these “hand pies”–so called because, of course, they are pies that you can pick up in your hand.  After reading about them, I have come to understand that the usual pie crust that one usually uses doesn’t really stand up to the rigors of the freeform nature of these, and picking them up and all.  The dough was fantastic–it has sour cream in it, which is never a bad addition to anything.  And it was a dream to work with.  You roll it and then fold it like a letter (as you do when making puff pastry), and then you do that twice more before you roll it out the final time.

These are planned for an event about three weeks from now.  Since I’ve never been all that good at pies and pastry making, I wanted to make a batch now and see if there are any tweaks I need to do before I make them for real.  I ate one just after it cooled, and I have to say it was fabulous.  The salted apple caramel filling was perfect, and the pastry was tender and delicious.  I’m thinking  now that I may freeze them, and see how that works out.  There are enough extra that I can freeze them for a couple of days, take one out and thaw and slightly reheat it in the oven, and see if it comes close to the deliciousness of that fresh one, or if I need to make another batch later.  I will definitely use this dough recipe again.  I’m not sure if it will work as a regular pie crust, but I look forward to finding out.

I found the recipe during my forays through Pinterest, which is turning out to be a great source of recipes, by the way.  The recipe can be found here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

