Cookies

Once, cookies were my least favorite dessert.  Even now, I don’t buy them from the store (well, I do like Oreos, but only one at a sitting).  But recently I’ve been developing an appreciation for them, due in large part to my discovery of two very, very addictive recipes.

Lemon Crackles

The first of these, Lemon Crackles, was given to me by a friend who apparently wants me to put on lots of weight, because otherwise why would she not tell me how addictive they were and warn me away?  To be fair, she did tell me that the nickname of these cookies is “Lemon Crack”, so maybe I should have figured it out.

Lemon Crackles
makes 3 dozen
1/2 cup butter
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 Tablespoon grated lemon rind (or more)
2 Tablespoons lemon juice (or more)
1 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
granulated sugar to roll cookies in (I use yellow sparkly sugar)

Cream butter and next two sugars.  Beat in egg.  Add lemon rind and juice.

Stir flour, baking powder, and baking soda together and add.  Mix well.  Shape into balls and roll in sugar.  Place on ungreased cookies sheet.  Bake at 350 for 10-15 minutes.  Blame Linda Solis, and not me, for your addiction.

My other favorite cookie, Orange Creamsicle Cookies, I found all on my own, so I have only myself to blame.  These little bites of heaven take their name from the frozen treat called an orange creamsicle–vanilla ice cream covered with orange popsicle, and they do taste a bit like that.  Mostly they are just delicious.

Orange Creamsicle Cookies
makes 3 dozen
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 Tablespoons fresh orange zest, grated
12 ounces (2 cups) white chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Line two cookies sheets with parchment paper or a Silpat.  In a small bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt; set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream butter and sugars until light and creamy. Beat in egg and vanilla until smooth. Gradually add flour mixture until combined. Stir in orange zest and white chocolate chips.

Drop by rounded tablespoons onto parchment lined cookie sheets. Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until golden brown around edges. Cool for 3 minutes on cookie sheet before transferring to rack to cool completely. Store in airtight container.

orange creamsicle cookies

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cookies

  1. sbuent says:

    Go make cookies! Do what I do–stick them in the freezer, and only eat one a day.

  2. Velia says:

    Both cookies look delicious. I am going to try to bake some this weekend. Thanks for sharing the recipes.

Leave a Reply

