Papas con Chorizo, and Flour Tortillas

The book I made the Truck Stop Chili out of, the Tex-Mex Cookbook by Robb Walsh, has been sitting in my bookshelf for years, but recently I pulled it out and I can’t stop cooking out of it.  I love this book!  And the flour tortillas from it are the best I’ve ever made.

on the comal

These tortillas are fluffy and have a wonderful flavor.  I love the way they puff up on the comal.  The proportions are 4 cups flour to 1/4 cup lard (according to the book you may substitute margarine but you may not substitute vegetable shortening.  No idea why) and 1 teaspoon salt.  Add 1 cup water and mix with a dough hook in a mixer for about 5 minutes.  Let them rest for 30 minutes before pulling off balls and rolling them out.  Delicious!

To go with the tortillas, I made papas con chorizo, also from the book.  I love chorizo, but I made the mistake once of reading the package.  There are things in there that you do not want to know about.  One of them is pork salivary glands.  See, I told you you did not want to know.  So now whenever I eat chorizo, I think of these things and it kind of spoils the experience.  This  homemade chorizo, though, uses plain old pork chops.  It’s as easy as can be, and an added bonus is that you can control the amount of fat, and you don’t get the red grease in there.  Not that that grease isn’t delicious, but it’s not very good for you, to put it mildly.  So here is the chorizo after it’s been browned, with some chopped jalapenos waiting to be stirred in.

chorizo, with no red grease in sight

And here it is after the addition of some chopped boiled potatoes.

papas con chorizo

Here’s the recipe from The Tex-Mex Cookbook.  You should buy this book!

1/2 lb. boneless pork chops, cut into 4-5 pieces
1 teaspoon chili powder
2 teaspoons paprika
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
Combine in food processor and process until coarsely ground.  Fry in a non-stick pan (or a regular pan with some oil) until browned.

Here’s my dinner tonight.  Tomorrow I’m going to add eggs to the leftovers.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Papas con Chorizo, and Flour Tortillas

  1. Donna Bowen says:

    Just bought the book, thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

