Chicken with Mustard

This recipe has been getting sporadic play on Pinterest recently.  I also saw it there several months ago, and the fact that it’s still knocking around on there made me think it might be worth trying.  Also, a Facebook friend of mine (hi, Veronica!) tried it and gave it a thumbs up, and I trust her judgment.  Anyway, the superlatives with which the various posters tag the recipe had me thinking…well, it can’t be that good.  Turns out, it is.  Image

It could be that I was just hungry, but I think I could have put away the whole recipe by myself.  It’s easy, which is always a plus for a good recipe, and I had all the ingredients on hand without having to go to the grocery store, another plus.

Let’s just say you should make this.  You should make this immediately.  I served it with brown rice, and I think spinach would be really really good as a second side dish, but I didn’t have any.  The sauce from this chicken is delicious over the rice.

This one is going into the permanent file.

Chicken with Mustard and Maple Syrup

1 package skinless, boneless chicken thighs (6-8)
1/2 cup Dijon mustard
1/4 cup maple syrup
1 Tablespoon rice wine vinegar (I think white wine or even apple cider vinegar would be just fine)
snipped fresh rosemary, to taste (don’t skip this!  Cut some from your neighbor’s bush if you have to.)

Cover a baking dish which allows you to place all the chicken in one layer with foil.  Lay the chicken thighs out and season them well.  I used a lot of black pepper, which I think went really well with the dish.  Combine the mustard, syrup, and vinegar and pour over the chicken.  Turn the thighs over to make sure they are all coated.  Put the dish into a preheated 450 degree oven for 40 minutes. Sprinkle with rosemary.

Prepare to be wowed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

