Carne Al Pastor (Pork Carnitas)

First of all, I know this is cheating.  Second of all, if you don’t live near an HEB you can’t do this anyway.  But man, it was good.  And easy.

I was determined to cook a meal without going to the grocery store, mostly because I was feeling too lazy to get in the car, but also because I have a lot of food in my freezer and pantry that needed to be eaten.

I don’t usually buy pre-packaged or pre-seasoned foods–they are usually more expensive and I usually think I can season and/or prepare them better on my own.  But these pre-seasoned pork carnitas that I found at HEB called out to me; they were on sale, and in a moment of weakness I bought them and stuck them in the freezer.

this is what the package looks like–available at HEB

They’re all ready to cook–just stick a little oil in a wok or skillet and stir fry them until they lose their pink color.  I also added a chopped-up onion.  Here’s what they look like after they’re cooked.

Around here, good corn tortillas are as ubiquitous as bread–there’s a Mexican bakery just down the street where I can buy fresh ones, and good packaged ones are available in the grocery store.  But I didn’t have any, so I had to make my own.  Making corn tortillas is even easier than making flour ones.  Just throw some masa, salt, and warm water in a bowl, mix it around with your hand, press them out, and throw them on the griddle.

Garnish them with some chili petins, tomatoes and cilantro and squeeze some lime over, and we’re done.  Heaven on a tortilla.  Larry liked cheese with his, and no chilies or cilantro.  If I had an avocado, we’d have shared that and put it on top.  But I didn’t, so we made do.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Carne Al Pastor (Pork Carnitas)

  1. Glenn says:

    When you’re here, I expect you to give me lessons on the gut gaskets. I think I have all the ingredients and equipment.

  2. janna says:

    I miss HEB….

  3. Pat Brown says:

    oh Susan they look like heaven. I want them right now, but do not have any of the ingredients. Have to settle for sausage and hash browned casserole and apple crisp with cream for dessert. Not a low calorie meal, but I am trying to use up what I have as well. Oh I am dying to make these. Dont think I will make my own corn tortillas.. Dont want HEB’s, so will have to see if there is anythone local that makes them homemade..i love your blog..

Leave a Reply

