Holy cow, y’all…

This stuff is dynamite-good.  Seriously.  I should know, because I just ate the whole damn thing.

Summer tomatoes, corn, crab, and avocado salad

When I saw the recipe title I just kept reading on and drooling because this salad has all the stuff I love most in it.  Except gravy.  That would just be weird.

But listen:
Fresh roasted corn.  Avocados.  Fresh-from-the-garden tomatoes.  Lime and olive oil and crab.  Oh, yeah.  What’s not to like?

I found the recipe here, but I’ll tell you how I made it.

First, I took two ears of perfectly young and fresh corn on the cob, and I rubbed them with olive oil and I roasted them at 400 for about 20 minutes.  While they were cooling, I made the rest of the salad.

I juiced a lime into a bowl, and added just a small amount of finely chopped sweet onion and a teaspoon of olive oil.  That sat there taking the edge off the onion.  Then I diced up a super juicy tomato, a small avocado, a handful of cilantro, and a little hot chili pepper (because if you know me, you know if it’s good, it’s better spicy).  I threw that all into the bowl with the lime juice, then I cut the corn off the cobs and added that.  Finally, I opened a can of crab meat (I know–but that’s all I had on hand; if I’d known how good this would be I would have made a run to the store for some nice lump crab meat, but it was plenty good as it was).  I added the crab, and then I just stirred it all up and ate it.  All. Of. It.

Holy cow.  Keeper.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Holy cow, y’all…

  1. Susan says:

    What’s not to love! Just gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

