Lemon Olive Oil Cake

So, I seem to be on a lemon kick again.  Really, I never go off of a lemon kick.  Lemon might just be my favorite flavor ever.  I ate a lot of sweets over the holidays, and I’m trying not to keep too many around, but just tell me–how bad can this cake be?  It has lemons (fruit), olive oil (good fat), buttermilk (sounds farm-ish) and rosemary (green).  Plus it has no frosting and is not very sweet.  I’m declaring it healthy.

Plus, it is easy to put together and has a scrumptious texture, which you want your healthy stuff to have if at all possible.  Win!

I combined and adapted this recipe from several I found on that great untested recipe database, the Internet.  But you can make this, because I tested it.  You trust me, right?Lemon Olive Oil Cake
makes one 9 inch layer

3/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
3/4 cup sugar
2 large eggs
zest of one lemon
1 teaspoon chopped fresh rosemary
1/2 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup buttermilk
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
Confectioners sugar

Preheat oven to 350.  Grease a 9 inch round baking pan with olive oil, or spray with Pam. (I used olive oil Pam to continue the theme.  I also put a round of parchment paper in the bottom of the pan, because I worry.)

Beat sugar and eggs until pale and foamy, 2-3 minutes.  Add zest, rosemary, salt, buttermilk, and olive oil and beat about 1 minute.

Whisk together flour, baking powder, and baking soda in a small bowl, and add to wet ingredients.  Beat just until combined.

Place batter into prepared pan and bake 30-35 minutes.  Cool cake in pan 10 minutes, then turn over onto plate and invert onto cooling rack.  Cool completely, about 1 hour.  Dust with confectioners sugar.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lemon Olive Oil Cake

  1. I also love lemons in all kinds of dishes. And olive oil! Does the flavor of the oil come through?

  2. Susan says:

    Having a piece right now, and I have to say that the olive oil doesn’t taste like olive oil. It just tastes very rich, kind of buttery, but there’s no butter in it. I would also add a little lemon juice because it could be slightly more lemony. But it’s really, really good.

  3. janna says:

    I’ve seen this recipe, too, and considered trying it — I’m glad to see you tested it for me! I love lemon, too — as much as I love chocolate, in the summertime, I like lemon more.

  4. Susan says:

    Janna, I’ve made this twice now and it has come out perfectly. Really unique flavor. Needs a bit more lemon I think.

Leave a Reply

