Chocolate Day

Today was Chocolate Day.  I managed not to overindulge, and put most of it in the freezer, so it could have been worse.

My friend Joe mentioned chocolate and chipotle in the same sentence the other day, and I haven’t stopped thinking about it.  When I found this recipefor Chocolate Bark with pumpkin spices, pumpkin seeds, chipotle, and sea salt, I was done for.  I had no good excuse for making this, as it doesn’t really fit into my tasting menu for November 30, but I did make it, so now Joe is going to have to help me eat some of it–I’ll be taking him a big bag tomorrow.  It is really, really good though.

spiced dark chocolate and pumpkin seed bark with sea salt and chipotle

My next task was to make a couple of the chocolate confections which will go into the tasting menu later.  These two types of truffles can both be frozen.  The first, White Chocolate Lemon Truffles, have a nice creamy, buttery taste.  When they are unfrozen, the day of the party, they will be briefly shaken in powdered sugar or yellow sparkly sugar–I haven’t decided which, yet.  The second recipe I made was for Oreo Mint Balls.  These are all over the Internet and apparently I missed the fun, but let me tell you–easy, and they taste like Girl Scout Thin Mints.  These will also be frozen, and later will be dipped in chocolate.  Here are the two sets of “truffles”, waiting to go into the freezer.

white chocolate truffles, Oreo mint truffles

Then, because I was on chocolate overload just from the smell (I swear, I didn’t eat that much) I decided to try to make a nice lunch just from things in my refrigerator that needed to be used up.  I had some of the agnolotti filling (chicken, prosciutto, Parmesan cheese, Marsala mixture), a half bag of  spinach, and a half a tomato, so this is what I came up with:

pasta with chicken and prosciutto meatballs

The filling made nice little meatballs which I sauteed in olive oil, then added the spinach and tomato, finished it with some butter, and served it over spaghetti.  Not bad!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chocolate Day

  1. Jude says:

    The chipolte chocolate bark would make very nice Christmas presents 😉

  2. Janna says:

    yes, I’ll be adding those chocolate recipes to my repertoire! The chicken meatballs look yummy, too, but they’re not chocolate…

  3. What exactly is a tasting menu lunch? Does it mean you’re writing a cookbook? If so, hooray!

  4. christellar says:

    What held the meatballs together so well? The colour on them is fabulous!

  5. sbuent says:

    The meatballs were made out if a ravioli filling that had eggs as a binder, so that’s what held them together.

Leave a Reply

