Salads

Okay, enough with all the baking.  It was actually fun, and I think I am coming to enjoy it a lot more than I used to, but my body and my busy little cooking hands are craving some good savory, healthy food.

These two salads are definitely on tap for the coming week.  I tried both of these earlier in the summer and it’s time for a repeat performance!

I bought Dorie Greenspan’s book, Around My French Table, awhile back, and her recipe for Lime and Honey Beet Salad is worth the price of the book.

Lime and Honey Beet Salad

Lime and Honey Beet Salad
from
Around My French Table
2 teaspoons cider vinegar
Grated zest and juice of 1/2 lime
2 teaspoons honey
2-3 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil
2 teaspoons minced fresh dill
2 teaspoons minced fresh chives
Salt and freshly ground pepper
1 pound cooked beets, peeled
Minced fresh dill and chives, for garnish (optional)
Whisk together the vinegar, lime zest and juice, and honey in a medium bowl until smooth.  Whisk in 2 teaspoons olive oil.  Add the dill and chives, and season with salt and pepper.
Cut the beets into wedges about 1/2 inch thick, add them to the bowl, and gently turn them around in the vinaigrette.  Cover the bowl and chill the beets for at least 2 hours, or for as long as overnight.
At serving time, stir in another teaspoon of oil, if you think the salad needs it, and taste for salt and pepper.  If you’re using them, top with minced herbs.
This one, Quinoa, Tuna, and Bean Salad,  I didn’t really have a recipe for, but I have added and subtracted from it until I’m pretty satisfied with it.  It’s so pretty!  Here it is:

Quinoa, Tuna, and Bean Salad

Sorry, I have no amounts to give you, but it’s pretty basic.  Just mix together the ingredients to taste, add or leave out what you like, and make it yours.  Here are the ingredients I used, with approximate amounts: 1 cup cooked quinoa, 1 can tuna in olive oil, drained, one can of cannellini beans, rinsed well, 3 sliced green onions, a half diced cucumber, a handful of grape tomatoes, a handful of arugula, the juice of one lemon, and a little bit of chopped sage and rosemary.  
I haven’t totally given up on the baking, though.  I just checked out a book from the library that I am longing to bake my way through.  It’s called Miette : Recipes from San Francisco’s Most Charming Pastry Shop.  At the shop, apparently, they go in for smaller-sized desserts.  This is great and makes a lot of sense, because except for special occasions, where you are serving a lot of people, it’s tough to make your way through a whole cake.  The cake recipes in this book call for a 6 inch pan instead of the usual 9 inch.  Awesome–an excuse to buy more cooking equipment.  And a friend just told me that San Antonio just got our very own Sur la Table.  I think I am feeling a convergence of need, desire, and opportunity.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Salads

  1. Two really delicious looking salads!

  2. The French know how to make a salad in more ways and combinations than any other culture that I have ever experienced. Even the simple looks divine and tastes delicious. Yours follows suit. Love the simplicity of the Beet salad.

  3. Excellent recipe today thanks for sharing. I really enjoyed reading today’s post.

    Check out this healthy recipe – Cheese Topped Vegetables

  4. Pingback: U CAN’T BEET BEATS, LIME & HONEY BEET SALAD

  5. Pingback: U CAN’T BEET BEATS, LIME & HONEY BEET SALADLights On Bright No Brakes

Leave a Reply

