Mexican Wedding Cookies

Since I’ll be visiting my daughter-in-law Amy tomorrow, I can’t go empty-handed.  She has been eating gluten-free for over a year now, and really misses things like cake, cookies, and bread.  Earlier this year I participated as a recipe-tester for Jeanne at Art of Gluten-Free Baking.  She’s doing a gluten-free cookbook that I’m eagerly anticipating, scheduled to come out (I believe) soon.  As a recipe-tester, I got an early look at some of the recipes which will go into the book, and I’ve been sharing the products with Amy.  These Mexican  Wedding Cookies were a big hit with her and I’ll be taking some up to her tomorrow.  I can’t share the recipe here yet, because that was one of the conditions of doing the testing, but I can show you how they look:

Mexican Wedding Cookies, gluten-free

And because I can’t ignore my son, I’m taking Bryan some of his favorite childhood (or maybe it was adolescent) home cooking: Bryan’s Meat And Rice.  When he was a teenager, he could eat a lot of this stuff–and I have to confess a fondness for it as well.  Bryan and I like to scoop it up with Cool Ranch Flavor Doritos.

Bryan's Meat and Rice

Bryan’s Meat and Rice (serves 1 teenager)

1/2 lb. ground beef

1 cup rice

1 can Rotel tomatoes with their juice

salt and pepper

In a saucepan with a tight-fitting lid, fry ground beef until brown.  Drain.  To beef in pan, add raw rice.  Add enough water to the tomatoes and their juice to equal about 2 1/2 cups.  Add to pan.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to the lowest setting, cover with a lid, and cook until all liquid is absorbed and rice is cooked.  Scoop with Cool Ranch Doritos.


This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mexican Wedding Cookies

  1. lars the food novice says:

    Top Secret cookies? I suppose if you gave the recipe out operatives would come to your house to dispense ‘Jeanne’s Revenge’. Better keep mum.

    Are these like butter cookies? Do they have a funky after-taste?

    Gluten-free cooking is too often like partner-free sex – only satisfying to a degree. I hope this ‘Jeanne’ person comes up with a creative tome.

Leave a Reply

