Spinach Salad

Back in the 70’s, when I was first away from home, the spinach salad was just coming into vogue.  I think it was pretty popular back then, and it was a revelation to me.  My only experience with spinach before that had been of the canned variety (my mother, though a wonderful home cook, wasn’t particularly imaginative when it came to vegetables).  I thought I hated spinach, and was amazed that it could be eaten raw.  I had my first spinach salad in a restaurant which has since disappeared into the recesses of my faulty memory, but I never forgot it, and one of the first things I did when I had a kitchen of my own was attempt to recreate the one I had fallen in love with.  Although I have now experienced and loved many variations on the spinach salad, this one still remains my favorite.  I love the way the steaming hot bacony dressing slides down over the cold raw spinach and wilts it.  I think I could eat it every day.

the ingredients

the salad

By the way, don’t you just love my bowl?  I found it at Thrift Town for a dollar.

Spinach Salad (serves 2)

  • 4 slices bacon, diced
  • 3 green onions, sliced
  • 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 4 ounces baby spinach leaves

Fry bacon until crisp.  Remove and drain.  Measure drippings to make ¼ cup, adding extra oil if necessary to make ¼ cup.  Return to pan.  Fry green onions until wilted.  Add brown sugar and cook until melted.  Add remaining ingredients.  Return bacon to pan and serve hot over cold raw spinach.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

