Not another cooking blog…

It seems like everyone in the world has a food and cooking blog.  I run across so many during the course of a day, and most of them are awe-inspiring.  I’ve resisted throwing my own hat into this well-trodden ring, because really, it’s all been said and I don’t have that much to add.  But I’ve been feeling lately like I am changing the way I look at food and cooking, and documenting this process for my own benefit seems like something I might like to try.  In a couple of months I will have my 60th birthday, and at this point in my life, frankly,  I find it kind of surprising to be having any kind of epiphany.

Another new skill I’m working on is food photography.  I will never be all that good at it because I am basically lazy and let’s face it–I’m retired, and if I have to work really really hard at something so that it’s not fun anymore, I’m just not going to do it.  But I’m learning enough for my own enjoyment, and that’s sufficient.  I find myself taking pictures of everything I cook, and sometimes I even cook something so I can take a picture of it.  Thinking about food in terms of the photos I’m going to take kind of changes the way I think about cooking it.  It’s weird, I know.

So this blog will give me a place to put the pictures I take and rant on about epiphanies and such.  Before this, the only place I had to post photos was Facebook, and the only one to listen to my epiphany-ranting was my poor husband, so maybe with this tool I can save my Facebook friends and my poor husband some boredom.  It’s worth a shot, anyway.

This entry was posted in Rants and Epiphanies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

