Salmon Burgers with Hatch Chilies and Chipotle Mayonnaise

Salmon burger

Because it’s Hatch Chile season, (even though we are many miles from New Mexico, and to my knowledge Hatch green chiles are not grown in Texas), my local grocery chain, HEB, goes all out to celebrate it.  There are roastings at some of the stores, and this year they’ve been spotlighting new Hatch products that are seasonal–i.e., I will get hooked on them and then they won’t be around any more.  To that end, I bought several packages of these raw salmon burgers that were for sale the other day.  They come two to a package, so I broke the packages up, rewrapped the burgers individually, and stuck them in the freezer.  This way I will be able to enjoy these for a while. And even after they are gone, there really is no reason that I can’t chop up some raw salmon and add stuff to it.  I will have to think about that after I use up all six of the patties I have squirreled away.

IMG_3471

This is how the burgers look when you buy them.  They have all kinds of goodness inside, like red peppers, onions, little chunks of cheese, and of course, the Hatch chiles.  For these burgers, I divided each patty into two and reshaped them.  I think these would make great sliders, and I may try those, breaking these into three or even four pieces.  They don’t lose much volume in the cooking process.

To begin, I made chipotle mayonnaise.  This is a very quick and easy process that I discuss in this post.IMG_0377Then I toasted the buns.  I used King’s Hawaiian hamburger buns for this recipe, and they worked great, but any old hamburger bun would do.IMG_3472IMG_3474Then I fried the salmon patties, which are raw, in a cast iron skillet until they were brown and cooked through, but not dry.IMG_3475

Finally, I sliced up some avocado and tomato, because really, what sandwich would not benefit from that, and then I slathered the bun with my chipotle mayonnaise.IMG_3482

These went really well with my Provenςal potatoes, which I will discuss in the next post.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Salmon Burgers with Hatch Chilies and Chipotle Mayonnaise

  1. wgr56 says:

    I’d eat that.

  2. redusm says:

    Looks really good. I wish I lived closer so I could partake!

Leave a Reply

