Blackberry Clafoutis

IMG_5659eBehold the clafoutis.  It is so pretty, and easy, and delicious, and best of all, versatile.  It tastes kind of like a thick crepe, and you can put different fruits in it depending on your mood or what you have on hand.IMG_5640ecroppedThis one has blackberries, but I have made it with raspberries, blueberries, and cherries.  I believe that the cherry clafoutis is the classic, but certainly the other fruits are a great substitute.  A mixed berry clafoutis would be really good too.IMG_5656eThe prep for this dish took about 5 minutes, and it bakes for 45 minutes, so you can have this delicious dessert ready in an hour.  It tastes good hot, at room temperature, or cold, and I like it best with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream, neither of which I had on hand today, sadly.  But it is totally delicious by itself.

This is the recipe I followed, which I believe is an adaptation of Julia Child’s recipe.  The only variation I made was to use almond milk in place of the dairy milk, something I have been doing more of in baking.  I didn’t really see any difference in the finished dish.IMG_5648e

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blackberry Clafoutis

  1. Mary says:

    I’ve never even heard of this, but it sure looks good.

Leave a Reply

