Yum Nua

I’m still cooking my way through the Quick & Easy Thai cookbook (see previous entry) by Nancie McDermott.  I still haven’t found anything in this book that I don’t like.IMG_5563etitleI’ve always been a big fan of the beef salad from Thai restaurants.  I’ve made a couple of attempts to reproduce it using other recipes, but this is by far the most accurate rendition, in my mind.  I could barely tell the difference between this and takeout Yum Nua.

Grilled Beef Salad with Chilies and Lime
serves 4-6
1 lb. boneless beef steak, grilled medium rare (I used top sirloin, and I grilled it rare)
1/3 cup chicken broth
3 Tablespoons fish sauce
3 Tablespoons lime juice
2 teaspoons sugar
2 teaspoons dried red chili flakes
2 Tablespoons finely chopped shallots
2 green onions, thinly sliced
a handful of fresh cilantro leaves, chopped
a handful of fresh mint, chopped
Sliced cucumber, lettuce, and rice, to serve
Thinly slice grilled beef across the grain into bite-sized strips.
Combine chicken broth, fish sauce, lime juice, sugar, and chili flakes.  Mix.  Add beef.  Add the shallots, green onions, cilantro, and mint and mix. Serve with lettuce and rice.Yu

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yum Nua

  1. Pat says:

    Oh yum Susan!
    I would line to try that, how much salt do you think thereius in this dish, as Mike is on a low sodium diet, I live mist Asian food and Thai us fast fe bombing my facorite
    .

  2. sbuent says:

    The fish sauce is salty. Try googling sodium content in fish sauce. That’s the only sodium in the dish.

Leave a Reply

