Green Chili Chicken and Lime Stew

IMG_1444Fiesta in San Antonio is coming up, and I’ve had a taste for Mexican food lately.  I seem to  either crave Asian food or Tex-Mex, and I think I’m on the Tex-Mex rotation right now.

I like the combination of lime with green chilies, so last year sometime when I had some of both, I started adding things until I had a dish I liked.  I liked it so much, I wrote it down at the time, but I haven’t made it again until today.  I still like it–a lot.

Instead of starting a charcoal fire, I just got out my George Foreman grill and used that for both the chicken breasts and the chilies.  It worked just fine. I like to use Bolner’s Chicken Fajita seasoning on my chicken breasts, but if you can’t find that, just season them up the way you like them.IMG_1438After I grilled the chicken, I set it aside to cool a bit, and put the peppers on the hot plates until they were softened a bit.  Usually I like to char the peppers so I can peel them, but I didn’t do that this time.  These peppers were nice and fresh and the skin wasn’t tough, so I could get away with it.IMG_1440This is the green chile enchilada sauce I used.  Down here, we have a plethora of canned sauces to choose from; I like this Las Palmas brand, but Old El Paso is also good, and there are many others.

I chopped up about half an onion and sauteed it until it was slightly browned, then added the diced chicken breast, diced green chilies, the enchilada sauce, and the juice of half a lime.  Then I simmered it a bit to finish cooking the peppers.IMG_1442This is the way the stew looks when it’s just about ready to eat.

IMG_1448Serve over white rice, with more lime and a dab of sour cream.

Green Chili Chicken and Lime Stew
2 boneless skinless chicken breast halves, seasoned with Bolner’s Chicken Fajita seasoning or salt and pepper to taste
1/2 onion, chopped
3 Anaheim or Hatch chilies, roasted, peeled, and diced
1 can Old El Paso (or other brand) green chile enchilada sauce
juice of one lime
Salt to taste
To serve:
white rice, cooked
sour cream and cilantro to taste

Sprinkle chicken breasts heavily with Bolner’s Chicken Fajita seasoning, and grill over a gas or charcoal grill until done. Cut into cubes.
In a medium saucepan, cook onion in a little olive oil until browned. Add chicken cubes and stir.
Add green chiles, enchilada sauce, and about half the lime juice. Bring to a simmer and cook for 10 minutes or so.

Serve over white rice with the sour cream and remaining lime juice, and chopped cilantro if desired.  Serves 2-3.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Green Chili Chicken and Lime Stew

  1. margie says:

    I am going to stop by the store on my way home and make this for dinner tonight it looks great

  2. Jude says:

    That does look good!

Leave a Reply

