Those Bacon Things

Whenever I know I’m going to have the grill going, as I did today, I try to make up a batch of these babies.  When I first started making them, I saw them on a website somewhere with the name “Those Bacon Things”, and that’s what I always call them.  Whatever their name, they are good.

They are also very easy to make–just take some boneless, skinless chicken breast (I used about 3/4 of a large breast to make 12 of these) and cut it into jalapeno-sized chunks.  Halve the jalapenos lengthwise, and scoop out all the seeds with a spoon.  If you do this, and your peppers are kind of mild to start with, you won’t have any heat whatsoever in the finished dish.  Mine today were completely heatless, but I have had them turn out kind of spicy, so your mileage may vary.

Cut a piece of bacon in half crosswise, and wrap it around the stuffed jalapeno half.  Secure with a toothpick.  That’s it!

Grill them until the pepper is soft and the bacon is crisp–the chicken will be done by then.  You can also bake them in a 400 degree oven for however long it takes to get the bacon crisp, but I recommend the grilling for the superior flavor.

Make more than you think you’ll need–they are addictive.  In fact…I think I’m about ready to go eat another one.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Those Bacon Things

  1. Pat says:

    I have tasted your wonderful “bacon things” and they are fabulous ? I need to make ithem. Do you wear plastic gloves when working with the peppers? I have to be careful of my eyes.

  2. sbuent says:

    I don’t use gloves, but I probably would if I were in your situation, ocularly speaking.

  3. These sound heavenly. I bought a grill a couple of years ago, but we rarely use it. I think I’ll hose it off when we get home and make a batch of these. I’ll need to get a grill basket for Chuck’s veggies.

Leave a Reply

