This Happened…

Chocolate fudge cake with salted caramel buttercream

Despite the fact that I am 1 (*ONE*!!) pound away from my goal weight that I’ve been trying to reach since January, I simply couldn’t resist making this cake for our monthly retiree get-together yesterday.  And when it came time to cut it, I couldn’t resist having some.  I did limit myself to a half piece, and it was glorious.

The friend whose birthday we were celebrating has lately become obsessed with salted caramel (and she says it is my fault, because I made this over the Christmas holidays and I forced her to eat some.)

Chocolate, vanilla, and salted caramel mousse

So naturally when thinking about her birthday celebration, salted caramel came to mind. I did a search and found this recipe, which I made pretty much as written.

The first thing I had to do was to buy some pans–six inch ones–for the cake part.  Since buying and loving the cookbook from the pastry store Miette, which features 6 inch cakes, I’ve been wanting to buy these pans anyway, so it didn’t take much to convince me to track some down.  I love the size of the cake.  Even though this one is three layers, a one layer, six inch cake is something that wouldn’t be sitting around too long either (a.) getting stale, or (b.) guilting me into eating it and gaining weight.  So I’m sure I’ll be able to get some more use out of the pans.

The cake part of the recipe is really simple and the result is tasty–fudgy and intensely chocolate.  The chocolate frosting was easy as well.  The pain-in-the-butt part of the recipe was the salted caramel buttercream that is used as a filling–but it was also the best part of the cake.  It includes making a Swiss buttercream, which I’ve never made before, and involves first making the caramel, then the buttercream, and mixing the warm (but not hot) caramel into it.  Swiss buttercream is delicious by itself, but when you add the salted caramel it reaches a whole new level of deliciousness.

layers of deliciousness

I’d also like to add that this cake contains TWO. FULL. POUNDS. OF BUTTER.  Which contributes to its goodness, of course–but in a six inch cake, that’s a lot of butter per serving.  So I won’t be making this again anytime soon.  But I’ll be remembering it for a while.

pretty much worth every calorie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This Happened…

  1. You have amazing will-power to just eat 1/2 slice. Chuck’s b-day is Saturday, and I’m probably not going to make a cake because we’re both on diets. I wish my goal weight was only 1 lb. away!

Leave a Reply

